companies, property and civil rights, administration of justice, game, education, hospitals and generally all matters of a local or private nature. The Council meets once each year in the Territories and at least once each year in Ottawa, which is the seat of government. The resources, except game, remain under the control of the Federal Government. The administration of legislation passed by the Commissioner in Council and the management of resources under federal legislation are conducted by the Northern Administration Branch of the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources. Administrative offices are located at a number of centres in the Territories including Fort Smith, Yellowknife, Hay River, Inuvik and Frobisher Bay.

COUNCIL OF THE NORTHWEST TERRITORIES (as at Apr. 30, 1965)	
Commissioner	B. G. SIVERTZ
Deputy Commissioner	(Vacant)
Members of the Council—	
Appointed	FRANK VALLÉE HUGH CAMPBELL Robert N. Harvey Stuart M. Hodgbon (One Vacancy)
Elected	Lyle R. Trimble John W. Goodall Peter Baker Robert Porritt
Officers of the Council—	
Secretary Legal Adviser	F. H. МURPHY Dr. HUGO FISCHER

In May 1965, it was announced by the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources that an Advisory Commission on the Development of Government in the Northwest Territories was being set up to study the practical problems involved, seek the views of northern residents and recommend to the Federal Government the steps required to provide a greater measure of self-government to the Northwest Territories. The threemember Commission is an impartial, fact-finding group, its members being drawn from fields outside government; its report will be presented to the Government early in 1966.

Section 3.—Municipal Government*

The British North America Act of 1867 placed municipal government in Canada under the control of the provincial legislatures. The powers and responsibilities of municipalities are those delegated to them by statutes passed by their respective provincial legislatures. Some of these statutes apply to all municipalities within a province, some to a certain type or group and many to one municipality only. The types of municipal organization in existence and the nature of the municipal services provided vary greatly from region to region and are adjusted from time to time to meet changing needs and conditions.

In addition to the well-known types of organized municipalities—cities, towns, villages, counties, etc.—there are various other forms of local government organization. Certain municipal government bodies encompass a number of municipalities or parts of municipalities. For example, special district authorities (greater water and sewerage and drainage districts, irrigation districts and health units) may provide services to a number of municipalities. Similarly, metropolitan government authorities provide certain services to a number of area municipalities. In some provinces, the more sparsely settled areas do not have organized municipalities. Instead, they are divided into local improvement districts, local government districts or special areas in which the local government services are administered by officials appointed by the provincial Departments of Municipal Affairs.

^{*} Revised (as at Jan. 1, 1965) in the Public Finance and Transportation Division, Dominion Bureau of Statistics.